Life

Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself. George Bernard Shaw

Have you ever noticed that when you least expect it, opportunities show up to move you in a different direction? No? Well, it did for me.

When I retired from 34 years of teaching middle & high school science in a small northern Wisconsin town, I started to fill my days with activities. I joined the local historical society, worked for my brother supervising student teachers, and spent time with friends. I made an attempt to long-term sub for a science teacher in my district which I failed at horribly at least in my mind. I hadn’t failed at something in so long, I didn’t know how to handle it and found my self deeply depressed and demoralized. Then things started to change.

My husband had lived in his hometown for his whole life. He wanted to move away from memories and lost opportunities. I went along because it would move us closer to our daughter and possible grandchildren. It was a terrifying move at times emotionally. I wondered what I would do with my life without the people and things I had grown accustomed to in my 36 years of living there. Little did I know what would be ahead.

We spent the first few years fixing up our new house and fixing up our bodies; new knees for me and chiropractic help for my husband’s back. We met a few people and felt this was a new start and an interesting journey. My husband had started seriously writing fiction when he retired and put most of his focus there. We traveled to Denver, San Diego, and New York to participate in writing conventions and meeting other like-minded people. I tagged along mostly for the experience but found myself interested in organizing finances for my husband’s new venture. (Those who know me understand I have a need for organization) I had also made some amateur attempts at making covers for my husband before he was published by a mid-range publisher. I tried to fill my life with sewing things convincing myself that I really loved it. I was actually bored and considered going back to some kind of job. Then came COVID and the Canva app.

When we were housebound with COVID, I found Canva. It is a free graphic design app. I started putzing with covers for the books my husband was self-publishing. This led to my trying to create a children’s book from a poem I scribbled in a boring history lecture in college. My husband was very supportive and showed me how to self-publish my first book, Hippos Are Fun! And the rest is history.

I have four books published, an additional one in Spanish, and an activity book that I just recently finished and published. I had my first author signing/sale in August and have another one in November. I have found my passion.

This entry was posted in Regular Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment